A Day Gone By

May 17th is an important day for me. It’s an anniversary of a life changing event and it is not one that puts a smile on my face. I had written an essay about the situation, the one that occurred 20 years ago, and upon rereading it I realized how bitter I had become. Bitterness is not becoming.

I took the draft with me to a coffee shop to edit while sipping an iced Americano and, as I sat there, I got a notice on my phone – a “woof” from an admirer on a dating site I subscribe to. I checked it out to find that it was quite a handsome guy with a thoughtful profile. I “woofed” back. A conversation started. Next thing I knew, he was walking into the coffee shop. We sat and talked for a while, and then both of us needed to continue with our days. We exchanged numbers and promised to be in touch again soon.

Just this one person made a difference. I felt some of that bitterness slipping away. I have no idea if anything will come of this. If nothing more than a friend, then it is a good thing. Thank you, tall handsome stranger.

Leave a Reply

