preposition proposition

March 14, 2016

a.k.a. Pi Day, or even better, Rounded Pi Day     3.14 16. 𝛑

Here I am, sitting in my chair near the kitchen window. If I were to write instead, “Here I am, sitting in my chair at the kitchen window,” how would that make you feel? What would that communicate to you? Is it a matter of fact, or a matter of style? Is there some information here that is essential for you? These are not rhetorical questions. This is an inquiry.

I want to be able to communicate in both broad, lustrous strokes as well as fine, elegant painted-in edges. I seek a way of writing that moves effortlessly from macro to microscopic and then back again. There is a dream in me, not fully realized, that shifts frames of reference with silky ease and with brutal crashes. There is a hope, a desire, and as stated earlier, a dream, to coddle and coax and bash and fuck language, the language I am most familiar with, American English, like clay or steel, oil paint or waßerfarben, and reveal layer after layer of emotion, meaning, intent and wonder. And to that end, I ask a question: can the mere substitution of a preposition either subtly or outrageously influence the flavor, not just the meaning, but the olfactory memory of a scene?

2 thoughts on “preposition proposition

  1. I am inclined to agree with you, but reading both, I didn’t grasp anything related to smell. Regardless, it would be strange to have a mere preposition change the parental proposition.

    • Thanks for your comment Yan Ho! The final sentence of my minor missive, the reference to olfactory memory, is intended to be a more general consideration. It was not intended to imply that there might be an olfactory component that could be modified by the differences between “near” and “at” the kitchen window, though some might make the leap, thinking that if one is in a kitchen, then smells, often associated with kitchen activities, might be involved. My intent was to question whether seemingly minor variations in word choice regularly guide a reader into different perceptual territory. So, again, thank you for your insight!

Leave a Reply

